Massachusetts | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
We purchased a (1986) home in Springfield, MA in 2007. We are the 3rd owners of the home. Our neighbors have always had a chain link fence on their property that stopped short of their actual property line. Because of this, there is property that had been "adopted" as part of our backyard. The previous owners of our home had fencing and a swingset on the land. Since moving into the home we have removed the swingset and fence and would like to put up new fencing. We maintain the property as our own (raking, mowing, planting, etc.). What right do we have to this land, if any? Please advise.


