Massachusetts | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I purchased my newly built house 15 years ago. I recently discovered that my house has been classified as a colonial rather than a cape (which it is). My real estate tax on the house is dependent, to a large extent, on square footage. The square footage of a colonial is two times the footprint of the house and a cape is 1.75 times the footprint. Consequently, my tax on the house has been approximately 12.5% higher than it should have been. I realize that I am responsible for checking my tax bill for accuracy every year but this is an error that would be very difficult for anyone to catch (the house is listed in a column as cl and others are listed as ca without any column heading or legend at the bottom. Also, the house has been re-appraised by several independent appraisers over the years and nobody corrected the error. Do I have any legal recourse against the town, or the independent appraisers?


