Massachusetts | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Real Estate Mediation
If a verbal agreement is made at a mediation about property lines (Massachusetts) can you appeal it if you've changed your mind?
Real Estate Mediation
If a verbal agreement is made at a mediation about property lines (Massachusetts) can you appeal it if you've changed your mind?
|
Read More Answered By: Craig J. Tiedemann |
Re: Real Estate Mediation It depends on the terms agreed upon for the mediation, such as whether any result reached through the mediation would be binding on the parties (or was previously agreed to be continuing negotiations, etc. <-- unlikely and rare). You and the opposing party also should have signed a mediation agreement with the mediator in advance of the event, which should set forth the basic agreed terms, probably including whether it was intended to be binding (usually it is; why else pay $ to a neutral if the result/agreement is not binding, disposing of the dispute?). A
Also, if a final, binding solution was arrived at during the proceeding, the mediator probably wrote up the basic terms of the agreement (even in his own hand) and had both parties sign, pending preparation of a more formal agreement. If you try to reneg on clear terms of a binding mediation you agreed to participate in, not only will the other party and the mediator likely be upset with you, you probably have no grounds for your position and likely will lose. Again, it depends on the specific facts involved. |
|
Read More Answered By: henry lebensbaum |
Re: Real Estate Mediation Your questions makes no sense. Mediation is usually not binding. If you agreed to be bound, you have a problem. |
Andover, MA
Questions Answered: 4059
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 2956
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
East Bridgewater, MA
Questions Answered: 1716
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 1211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Dedham, MA
Questions Answered: 858
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 540
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Wellesley, MA
Questions Answered: 373
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-27
Fall River, MA
Questions Answered: 372
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-27
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
► Road ownership My neighbors and I live on a private way in Massachusetts. Some have...
► How to get important legal papers back Hi, My sister died last year and in her house...
► Neighbor's video camera Can a neighbor place a video camera pointing into another...
► Neighbor illegally dumping on my property How do I get my neighbor to remove a pile...
► Mortgage responsibilities when an unmarried couple purchase home together, both...
► Disclosure One year ago, I purchased a home using a buyer's broker from the owner...
► Trustee I just became a trustee of an estate and I'm embarrased to ask about payment...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Massachusetts| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press