Michigan | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
Recording Phone Conversations
Is it legal for my boss to record a phone conversation without prior notice to either party?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: William Morrison |
Re: Recording Phone Conversations No, not unless he's speaking to another employee in the workplace. A workplace is not a private space.
Is it a good idea to confront your boss with this information?
No, not unless you've accepted other employment.
See: 750.539d Installation, placement, or use of device for observing, recording, transmitting, photographing or eavesdropping in private place.
Sec. 539d.
(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person shall not do either of the following:
(a) Install, place, or use in any private place, without the consent of the person or persons entitled to privacy in that place, any device for observing, recording, transmitting, photographing, or eavesdropping upon the sounds or events in that place. |
Top Attorneys in MI
Klisz Law Office, PLLC
Livonia, MI
Questions Answered: 2489
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
William Stern, P.C.
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 1936
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Legal Data Services, PLC
Redmond, WA
Questions Answered: 1783
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-03
Best Vredevelt & Associates
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 426
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-20
Law Offices of Thomas M. Loeb
Farmington Hills, MI
Questions Answered: 241
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wright Cantrell PLLC
Detroit, MI
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Mall Malisow & Cooney, PC
Farmington Hills, MI
Questions Answered: 71
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-06
Bendure & King, PLLC
Detroit, MI
Questions Answered: 67
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-20
Prowse Law PLC
Kalamazoo, MI
Questions Answered: 42
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-14
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Search Questions and Answers


