Legal Question in Constitutional Law in Michigan

I am having a debate with a friend over the constitutional amendment process. I told him under article 5 of the constitution the only thing that cannot be amended is the state's right to equal suffrage in the senate. Anything else is fair game.

We could amend away the electoral college. We could amend away the senate (since they would still have equal suffrage in the senate if there were no senators in any of the states). We could even amend away the office of the president of the united states. He thinks I'm crazy but I can't see any other way to interpret article 5.

Asked on 3/29/11, 9:02 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Edward Hoffman Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I generally agree with you, except that a state may lose its equal representation in the senate if it consents.

Read more
3/29/11, 6:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Constitutional Law questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now