Michigan  |  Elder Law

question bubble
2/20/09, 2:42 pm

Legal Question


Elderly parents being forced into a nursing home

My father is 89 and my mother is 88. They live in Michigan. I live in New York. I am their only child. The courts are filing papers for a court appointed guardian and conservatorship over their property, and they will be forced to live in a nursing home. My parents do not want that. While I agree they cannot live without some assistance, perhaps like a visiting nurse, what can I do to help protect their rights and stop their property from being sold off? I have NO money for an attorney. I am living on SSI. Unfortuately, they only have a will leaving their property to me, but not a living trust. I have no power of attorney. Is there anything I can do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search