Michigan | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
being sued by ex-girlfriend for money owed in relationship
My ex-girlfriend and I ended our relationship in 2000. Prior to that time, she offered various amounts of money to help me with my finances during the 4 surgeries I recieved. (i.e. rent, car expenses) A contract between us was written up and signed, with detailed amounts of what was borrowed. She is now sueing me for the remaining balance owed. My question is will this ''contract'' hold up in court, and if so, is there anything i can do to safeguard myself. Basically i feel that she offered me her help and by signing this ''contract'' i am indebted?


