Legal Question in Legal Ethics in Michigan

Hello,

I'm not sure if I picked the right law area but here is the question.

At a non-profit organization it has been discovered that the financial manager has knowledge of a staff member, (who is now a former staff member that left on her own) who had taken a contribution payable to the non-profit and used it for her personal finances. After months of asking the financial manger about the discrepency in the books she finally stated that the former staff member said that they will have the money in by tomorrow. That the company had given that former staff member the payment months ago and she had used it for personal reasons. What legal actions, if any, can or should this non-profit do in this case.

Asked on 4/20/11, 6:52 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

William Stern William Stern, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The non-profit may have to sue the former employee. It also could be criminal but you have to file a police report to start that process rolling.

Read more
Answered on 4/20/11, 8:03 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88423 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now