Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Michigan

My father has just passed. The house is now in my name, and he had taken a line of credit out on the house last year. In 09 he had signed the house over in a quick claim deed. My question is am i responsible for this loan?

Asked on 8/14/12, 7:36 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You are not responsible for the loan, but the lien stays on the property that you now own. So you can sell it, but the lien gets repaid unless its a short sale. Tim Klisz kliszlaw.com

Read more
8/14/12, 10:35 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now