Michigan | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Legality of a contract
Is a verbal contract legal and is a handwritten one legal? I had a verbal contract with someone and then in the middle of everything he wants me to sign this handwritten one. I need to find out because he has violated points of the verbal one. I am purchasing some land and the person I am dealing with moved my double wide to the property. I have incurred expenses not agreed upon and he has not fulfilled his verbal promises. He hired another party to do most of the actual work. He himself has no contractors license in this state. He has tried to save money by cutting corners on the structural integrity of my garage and has changed other things that we had agreed upon. He told me I would only be out of my home for 3days to a week and I ended up in a hotel for over 2 weeks. Now he wants me to pay him a penalty of $500 a month because he hasn't gotten his money yet. The mortgage company won't pay the money until the job is finished. He has harrassed me for th money non stop since the project began and he was the one who offered to front all of the money to do the job until we close on the loan. Please help. thank you


