gift tax
My Mother wants to gift us a $30,000.00 one time gift, she is 87 years old and wants to see the joy on her kids faces before she parts this life,My uestion is will she get stuck with a tax on this gift ?
|
Read More Answered By: JASSI SACHDEV |
Re: gift tax Under IRC 2503(b), your mom can gift each one of you $12000 per year without incurring gift tax implications. This is the annual per donee exclusion. Do the math and see how much each of you gets. If more than 12000 a piece, she would have to file form 709 and report excess of 12000 paid. No gift tax is due if she has not already and cumulatively not used her $1 million gift tax exemption for her lifetime. 709 at this time is only for reporting purposes and must be filed to avoid hassles down the road. |
Redmond, WA
Questions Answered: 1783
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-03
Plymouth, MI
Questions Answered: 696
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-18
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 265
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-05
Livonia, MI
Questions Answered: 135
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Saline, MI
Questions Answered: 44
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-04-22
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-17
Kalamazoo, MI
Questions Answered: 42
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-14
Farmington Hills, MI
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-16
Rochester, NY
Questions Answered: 10
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-04
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-06-29
► Structuring a consulting firm Hello, I'm currently involved in consulting a...
► Filing jointly We have a prenup, we both have own homes, can we file taxes jointly...
► Taxes A guy I worked with is sueing me because he says i worked with him as a valet...
► Tax refund stolen My wife had our joint refund didect deposited to an account...
► Social Security Income Is social security income subject to lein on wages?
► Did not pay taxes IRS issues I was a partner in a business my title (Sales Manager)...
► Tax pecentage on vacant land sold We sold 40acres of vacant land, bought it for...
More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in Michigan| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press