Minnesota | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
Property Rights and the Vick Case
I had a couple quick questions about the Mike Vick dogfighting case. First of all, let me preface this by saying that I feel his actions were abhorrent and morally wrong. I was wondering if Vick does, however, have the right, under the Constitution to abuse his animals. Doesn't the Constitution give people the right to do what they wish to their private property so long as their actions don't violate the rights of another American citizen? Secondly, are animal cruelty laws violations of the Ninth Amendment? I am under the impression that the Ninth Amendment makes it unconstitutional to make laws, or interpret the Constitution to violate the rights of another. Wouldn't animal cruelty laws infringe upon the Ninth Amendment?
Once again I would like to express that I do feel Vick's actions were reprehensible, I am not condoning them in any way. I am an animal lover and would never wish harm on any of God's creations.


