Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Minnesota

question on a spousal loan from a student loan

my question is my girlfriend was married back in 2003 and divorced in 2003 in Minnesota. Her husband at the time filed for a spousal loan for both of them in Minnesota on their student loans. He thought combining the two would be better. He left her in 2003 and now they are divorced. its' been 3 years and the State of Minnesota wants the money. i don't mind helping her, but is there anyway she can get out of that or just pay her share or does she have to pay the whole thing. He isn't going to budge and won't pay anything at all. is she stuck on this loan with him or can she get out and pay her half. she can file a forbearance, but he has to as well. what can she do in this situation?

Asked on 7/07/06, 12:30 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Anderson Mahoney Anderson LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: question on a spousal loan from a student loan

Need to review the loan + divorce documents. She may be able to avoid partial liability. Call or e-mail for help.

Read more
7/07/06, 12:58 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Minnesota

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now