Minnesota | DUI Law
3/01/03, 1:54 am
Legal Question
DWI license plates
If an individual has DWI plates can their vehicle be searched without a warrant?
DWI license plates
If an individual has DWI plates can their vehicle be searched without a warrant?
|
Read More Answered By: John Alme |
Re: DWI license plates Whether or not the vehicle can be "searched" doesn't have any direct connection to the type of plates on the vehicle. Police can STOP a vehicle with "DWI plates" pretty much at their whim - the special plates were created to more easily identify drivers with a history of alcohol-related infractions. The standards the police must follow in order to go further - to actually search the vehicle - are not different than standards to be followed regarding searches of vehicles with ... "regular" ... plates. Those standards are quite specific to the circumstances at the time and place of the incident.
While I may have answered your question, it seems you may have another concern about the legality of a search that occurred. I encourage you to review those specific facts with an attorney who practices in criminal law. Many criminal law lawyers would review the matter with you at no cost.
I hope that helps.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas C. Gallagher |
Re: DWI license plates Minnesota Statutes Section 169A.60, subd. 18, addresses police stops of vehicles bearing "special plates," stating that such stops are governed by Minnesota Statutes Section 168.0422. The latter says that police can stop cars with the specified special plates to check whether the driver is lawfully operating it with a valid drivers license. A 2002 Minnesota Court of Appeals case, State v Henning, 644 NW2d 500, appears to say that statute was not unconstitutional, in that case.
As for the issue of an automobile search -- whether the car has the "special plates" would likely be mostly irrelevant to the legality of the search. The topic of automobile searches is too big to address here. There are situations where police can legally search a car without a search warrant. But, there are also situations where they must have a search warrant first. It depends upon the facts of each case, which you should review with a criminal defense lawyer. |
|
Read More Answered By: David Kelly-952-544-6356 |
Re: DWI license plates There are lots of rules and provisions about when a search warrant is required and when it is not. There are all sorts of circumstances under which any car can be searched without a warrant.
I know of no particular provision, however, that gives any additional authority for a warrantless search just because the car has the DWI plates.
There are whole shelves in the law libraries full of big fat volumes of material about search and seizure. The determination of where the search you are concerned about might fit in the general scheme of these laws would require a whole lot more information than you have provided.
Good luck. |
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 2487
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 815
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 547
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Fargo, ND
Questions Answered: 441
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-17
Edina, MN
Questions Answered: 374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-27
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
St. Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-19
Cokato, MN
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-10
Eden Prairie, MN
Questions Answered: 80
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-19
► Victim of uninsured drunk driver My 16-year-old son was rear-ended by a drunk driver...
► Refusal of PBT Is it illegal to refuse a PBT if you are not driving a vehicle?
► Owning a vehicle after multiple dui my brother lost his lic a year ago from having...
► Violated restricted drivers license I was pulled over initially for a speeding...
► Am i as well represented with a P.D. as with a private attorney I have been charged...
► Failure to complete community service that was sentenced I was charged and convicted...
► Second DUI My boyfriend had gotten his second DUI, but he wasnt drunk, he downed a...
More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in Minnesota| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press