Minnesota  |  Civil Litigation

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/12/12, 12:32 pm

When I was 8 years old, my mother remarried and I was legally adopted by my stepfather, changing my last name. When they divorced and my mother remarried my birth father, I legally changed my name back to my original birth name. However, I never changed my birth certificate. I didn't know that was a separate process. Now my birth record shows a last name that I haven't used in 20 years and a father that was not my real father. I'm wanting to apply for a passport now and I'm affraid I won't be able to get one because my name is different on my birth certificate than it is on my SS card and driver's license. What should I do?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

286 Answers given in the last few hours.

7529 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search