Minnesota | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Builder didn't pay me back
A builder friend of my boyfriend asked my boyfriend and I to purchase a lake home that he was building. At the time, we were led to belive there would be a considerable amount of equity in the property when we purchased it. We never signed a purchase agreement... just a verbal agreement between the builder and my boyfriend. As the home was being built, the builder asked us to purchase several items ourselves -- appliances, lights, flooring, hardware, and more to keep costs down and pick out what we wanted. Never in my wildest dreams, did I ever think we would not get the home, but in the end this builder ''friend'' obviously inflated several costs, and not only was there no deal to be had, his asking price was way more than we could afford. So...sadly for them and for us, we had to back out of the deal.
We figure we put at least $8000 into the home. We have asked the builder to reimburse us for the items we bought. He refuses stating that we ''walked out on the deal, and therefore forfiet any items there.'' His argument is that since we ''walked away'', he was ''stuck'' with an unsold home, additional bank interest payments, insurance and more.''
The home has since been sold. Are we entitled to the $8000 we put into it?


