Minnesota | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Legal wills
Does a will have to be notarized to make it legal?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Kelly-952-544-6356 |
Re: Legal wills Under Minnesota law all that is required is two witnesses. The statutes provide an option where if the witnesses sign in front of a notary and with the required language in the will, then their appearance later in court to verify the will is not required. Wills with that feature are called "self proving."
If the will is not self-proving, the witnesses have to be available to verify the will after the person's death. So while you can do it without a notary, it's a bad idea.
You impress me as someone who is preparing their own will. I have seen many such documents, after the person died of course, which were not done properly and which could not be used. For the few hundred dollars that it would probably cost, you would be very well advised to get to a real, live lawyer.
Supposed self-help services like Legal Zoom probably hurt more people than they help.
For example, if you have two witnesses and a notary, but the self-proving language required by the statute is not in the will, it's still not self-proving. If you don't go to a lawyer, how would you ever know if you have it right? |
Top Attorneys in MN
Minnesota Lawyers
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 2487
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Calvert Law Office
Saint Cloud, MN
Questions Answered: 251
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-28
Chesley Kroon Chambers and Harvey
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-27
Reiff Law Office
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
763-424-6442
Maple Grove, MN
Questions Answered: 79
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Felix Law Office, P. A.
Burnsville, MN
Questions Answered: 73
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-06
Law Office of Donald W. Kohler
White Bear Lake, MN
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-02
Law Office of Scott M. Dutcher, LLC
Alexandria, MN
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-01
Larry B. Stevens & Associates
Roseville, MN
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Search Questions and Answers


