Legal Question in Criminal Law in Mississippi

I have been trying to divorce for 3 years now. The major problem I have encountered is back in 2010 my husband refinanced our home and took another woman to closing and masqueraded her as me. The lawyer at closing acted as closing attorney and notary. I have been through 5 lawyers because they refuse to do anything about the forgery. He turned our home we had paid down to 12 years back into a 30 year mortgage and took $10000.00 out of equity, that I never saw. Here we are 2013, April, I received foreclosure papers yesterday. The only thing I can do at this point is go to the DA and press charges for the mortgage fraud. My question is why will the lawyers not fight for the victims in a case like this before it gets this far? Very disappointed in the justice system. I do everything for my kids and for him to say he just can't do it anymore is unacceptable to me.

Asked on 4/03/13, 8:40 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Matusheski Law Offices of Timothy J. Matusheski
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The practice of law is a business, and helping you would probably be a bad business decision unless you paid by the hour, and up front.

Read more
Answered on 4/03/13, 10:04 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Mississippi

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now