Mississippi | Social Security Law
Legal Question
How long does it take to get a disability appeal hearing date?
My 52 yr. old mom applied for disablity 18 months ago and was denied 2 times. She has bi-polar manic depression, panic disorder, personality disorder, post traumatic stress disorder, and several other mental disorders. She has now lost her home and auto. We now have an lawyer who we haven't heard from since he took her case Aug. 2003. His office tells us they have no court date yet. How long does it normally take to get a hearing date? Is there anything I could do to help get a date? Do we need to hire a new lawyer or does it take over 8 months to get to court?


