Missouri  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
1/13/10, 8:45 am

Legal Question


I was served with papers for a debt. I am trying to get a copy of the original bill; however the debt collector is saying that they send me a letter several months ago about the debt. I have not received that letter, so could not make a written request for proof of the debt. Am I entitled to a copy of this before the trial date? Who can I get this from? Can the debt collector withhold this from me? Am I entitled to a postponement of the trial. I am not unwilling to pay for the debt if I can find out what the original charges were. Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search