Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Missouri

Police departments

A lady I used to date broke into my home and stole some objects, I cam home when she was leaving. I followed her and called the police. The police first asked if I wanted to press charges, when I replied '' I only want my stuff back'' When they opened the trunk it was more things that I thaught and as I was trying to get the stuff the police told me that I was taking too long and that I would have to file with the court to get the rest of my stuff back. I told them then that if I cant get all of my stuff now then I want to press charges and they refused and threatened to put the both of us in jail.

Q who is liable for the stuff that I will probably never see again?

Asked on 5/14/03, 12:18 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Smith LawSmith
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Police departments

Based upon teh limited information that you provided, it sounds like she would be liable for any personal property she took without your permission.

Good Luck,

Tony Smith

Read more
5/16/03, 3:51 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Missouri

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

87822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now