Missouri | International Law
Legal Question
Maritime Drug Law
In the past casino's got around anti-gambling laws by staying in the Missouri river making them subject to maritime law. I was wondering if a boat could be fashioned as a hash house; selling marijuanna but containing its use to onboard ship. I read the maritime drug law enforcement act and it seemed to me that as long as vessel was under a foreign registry of a foreign person where the drug was legal this would be possible. So long as it was not distributed or manufactured outside of the vessel it would be lawful. The language was complex however and I wanted to seek clarification before coming up with ideas about business ventures. Additionally, would someone of Native American descent qualify as a person of foreign registry?


