Missouri | Personal Injury
Legal Question
My 1st gradee was cut in the face by another 1st grader with a pair of metal sissors. Given to them by the teacher when they are suppose to use saftey ones. Should we sue the school and press charges against the student?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Harvath |
Hi. Going by the facts provided, you probably would not be able to pursue criminal charges in this situation against either the other student or the school, as the required intent does not seem to exist on the part of the teacher, and the student is likely too young to be charged in a criminal proceeding. On the other hand, you may have the elements needed to establish a civil claim for damages against the parents of the other student, or, more likely, against the school, due to the apparent negligence of the teacher. If negligence is established, you would be entitled to payment of all medical bills, including past expenses, as well as future, compensation for any permanent scarring that may have resulted, and payment for pain and suffering. Is it likely that the cuts will result in scarring? Has the school offered to pay any of the medical bills? For your convenience, I can be reached by e-mail at mth2000@yahoo.com. I am a personal injury attorney in the St. Louis area. Thanks.
NOTE: This answer is for educational purposes and does not constitute legal advice. The use of this site does not create an attorney-client privilege or relationship between the user and the attorney responding. |
Top Attorneys in MO
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Bartimus, Frickleton Robertson & Gorny, PC
Jefferson City, MO
Questions Answered: 1384
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-09
Ankerholz and Smith
Overland Park, KS
Questions Answered: 345
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The S.E. Farris Law Firm
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 225
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-22
James Manning, PC
Harrisonville, MO
Questions Answered: 157
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-13
Harvath Law Offices-INJURY case representation
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
The Stevens Law Firm
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
the montgomery law firm llc
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
McLeod & Heinrichs
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 53
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-26
Search Questions and Answers


