Legal Question in Personal Injury in Missouri

victims compensation

if my son age 18, were stabed and aquired a 10,000.00 hospital bill, and as his mother never signed any forms at hospital,. how can they 6 years later garnish my pay check? how is that my responsibility? scott city mo. scott county, 2003

Asked on 2/17/09, 8:12 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony DeWitt Bartimus, Frickleton Robertson & Gorny, PC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: victims compensation

It would depend on whether you actually defended the lawsuit that was originally brought. A creditor can't get a garnishment without filing a lawsuit first. If you took no action to bring out the facts at the trial court, the judge likely gave the hospital a judgment by default. If it has been less than a year, you can still potentially get that judgment opened back up and have a chance to defend it, but you need to act with speed to get that done. Contact a local attorney. If you can reopen the judgment and get it set aside, that will stop the garnishment as well.

Good luck,

Read more
2/18/09, 8:58 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Missouri

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Personal Injury Law and Tort Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now