Missouri | Tax Law
Legal Question
Tax witheld falsely
My husband recieved a notice from the state of missouri child support div. about three years ago stating he was 5000.00+ behind on child supp.This was impossible because it comes straight out of his check(works for state). After proving he was not behind we kept getting notices from them still. They said not to worry that a comp. was kicking the notices out. This year when our income tax check didn't arrive we found out that Missouri was holding it for back child support. And that it had to be held for 3 months. They said it would be released in Nov. Now it is Dec. and they say the end of this month. They said that if I (the wife) would get a notorized letter stating I would not claim injured spouse to the I.R.S., that it might come early. Why do they need this letter, if it's for the IRS? Also,they had told me his wife must have applied for help and lied about him being a non payer. Can we not get anything for these people's negligence in not doing their job? How about interest on our money they've had for 8 months? I think they should have checked to make sure she wasnt getting it. Esp. after all our probs. with this.Thanks for your time


