Legal Question in Traffic Law in Missouri

tags expired, ticketed on way from inspection station to DMV

I just got my car inspected. The plates expired back in November 2007. This is a project car and I just completed an engine rebuild. Head gasket blew in August 2007. This being said, the car was not drivable anytime near the month of November. I completed the repairs of my vehicle in April of 2008. I drove the car to the inpection station and it passed. Got in my car and drove the 2 block distance to the DMV. I got pulled over on this short trip for expired tags. I explained this to the officer and showed him ''time stammped'' documentation that I just left the inspection station and am now sitting in front of the DMV with the rest of the documentation to reniew the tags. The officer told me to ''Hang Tight!'' Well, He returned with a ticket for expired tags. My question is, I have to have an inspection to reniew my tags, right? Right! How do I get this vehicle to the inspection station with expired tags? I know it's too late now but would like to know for the future. The officer said ''I'm just trying to be fair.'' Could not tell me how to get a car inspected with expired tags. Thanks Festus MO Police!!!!!! Thank you in advance for your answer.

Asked on 4/28/08, 6:33 pm

5 Answers from Attorneys

Michael R. Nack Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: tags expired, ticketed on way from inspection station to DMV

The simple answer is to renew your tags before they expire, of course. Eitehr go to court and explain everything to the judge or pay your fine and court costs. It will not show up on your record.

Read more
4/29/08, 12:12 am
Michael R. Nack Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: tags expired, ticketed on way from inspection station to DMV

The simple answer is to renew your tags before they expire, of course. Eitehr go to court and explain everything to the judge or pay your fine and court costs. It will not show up on your record.

Read more
4/29/08, 12:12 am
Michael R. Nack Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: tags expired, ticketed on way from inspection station to DMV

The simple answer is to renew your tags before they expire, of course. Eitehr go to court and explain everything to the judge or pay your fine and court costs. It will not show up on your record.

Read more
4/29/08, 12:12 am
Michael R. Nack Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: tags expired, ticketed on way from inspection station to DMV

The simple answer is to renew your tags before they expire, of course. Either go to court and explain everything to the judge or pay your fine and court costs. It will not show up on your record.

Read more
4/29/08, 12:12 am
Michael R. Nack Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: tags expired, ticketed on way from inspection station to DMV

The simple answer is to renew your tags before they expire, of course. Either go to court and explain everything to the judge or pay your fine and court costs. It will not show up on your record.

Read more
4/29/08, 12:13 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Missouri

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88127 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now