Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Nevada

NV COURT RECORD: Law firm solicited Debtor for loan mod services. After verbal agreement & payment in full, they said the loan couldn't be modified unless she filed bankruptcy. After filing the Bk Petition, they converted her liquid assets into "fees & services" to "make her eligible" for Bk without her knowledge, & ceased communication. No factual plan or modification was filed.

They were dismissed as counsel & ordered to comply with NRPC 1.16(d) (return Debtor property, surrender complete bk & loan mod files, & refund advance/unearned fees). They refused. A 2nd judge ordered compliance. They refused. Debtor testified & plead to non-compliance. Trustee testified that Debtor would seek sanctions. Motions had not yet been filed when bankruptcy was dismissed (3 years w/no Plan). The Court dismissed the case to free Debtor to pursue Malpractice cause; Trustee concurred. Trustee cannot force the firm to reimburse as the Court Order did not specify the $ amount.

SINCE DISMISSAL: Metro advised Debtor to ask the Judge if, 1) they should execute a Standby before or after filing, & if 2) the Bk Court could issue a Bench Warrant &/or garnishment. Debtor did. The Court/Trustee won't advise, but are anticipating Debtor' filing.

QUESTION: I am filing Motion for Reconsideration to compel compliance w/Court Orders. But what exactly do I ask for - bench warrant, injunction, garnishment, imprisonment? What authorities? I would also like to seek sanctions, but don't want to muddy the waters (Trustee will support as long as no shadow cast on them) or damage/limit the impending Malpractice cause.

Finally, this case is extremely well evidenced & recommendations for the highest profile legal malpractice attorney are greatly appreciated.

Asked on 8/13/12, 7:25 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Talk to Jeffrey Cogan, he is the best bankruptcy litigator I know, having worked as a law clerk for R Clive Jones when he was the bankruptcy judge here in LV.

Read more
2/15/13, 9:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Nevada

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8804 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now