Re: protection of spouse from DUI incident
The Nevada Legislature enacted Nevada Revised Statutes
(NRS) 123.I30, which reads
1. All property of the wife owned by her before marriage, and that
acquired by her afterwards by gift, bequest, devise, descent or by an
award for personal injury damages, with the rents, issues and profits
thereof, is her separate property.
2. All property of the husband owned by him before marriage, and
that acquired by him afterwards by gift, bequest, devise, descent or
by an award for personal injury damages, with the rents, issues and
profits thereof, is his separate property.
Under this statute, an asset which comes under its terms is the
separate property of one of the spouses in the absence of clear and
convincing proof that the asset was purchased with community
funds or credit, or was acquired by the spouse's community toil or
talent. See, e.g., Kelly v. Kelly, 86 Ney. 301, 468 P.2d 359 (1970); Pryor
v. Pryor, 103 Nev. 148, 734 P.2d 718 (1987);
NRS 123.070 allows a husband and wife to make contracts with one
another respecting property, which any unmarried person could
make. Thus, a husband could gift his separate property or his portion
of community property to his spouse, thus making her the owner of a
great deal of separate property. See, e.g., Kerley v. Kerley, 112 Nev.
36, 910 P.2d 279 (1996); Campbell v. Campbell, 101 Ney. 380, 705 P.2d
154 (1985); Schmit v. United States, 896 F.2d 352 (9th Cir. 1989). As
the wife's separate property, the husband's creditors simply could not
reach the property.