Nevada | Family Law
Legal Question
Child's Right to decide
At what age is a child allowed to decide for themselves where/ which parent they live with?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Anita Webster |
Re: Child's Right to decide There is no magical age at which a child can decide which parent to live with. The reason the court doesn't allow the child to choose is because the child might want to live with the parent that is the most lax when it comes to rules, homework, etc. or the parent that promises them the most. That being said the court is willing to have the Famiy Mediation Center interview the child or children to find out their thoughts. Therefore, the child(ren)'s preference is just one factor the court considers while taking a look at the overall circumstances of both parents. |
Top Attorneys in NV
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Jeffrey A. Cogan, Esq., Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 758
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-04
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Willick Law Group
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 254
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
ToughTimesLegal.com
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 174
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Webster & Associates
Las Vegas,, NV
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-11-06
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


