Nevada | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
If you own property in two states, will you have to go through probate in both states?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Paul Malikowski |
Each state has its own laws governing succession and rules for transfer of real estate. It is very possible, if not probable, that without professional planning, each state will require its own probate proceeding where a decedent dies owning land within that state.
In Nevada, a good approach to avoid the delay, uncertainty and expense of two separate probate proceedings in more than one state, is to have a revocable living trust-based estate plan drafted whereby the landowner transfers to his revocable living trust all of his real property, vesting in the successor trustee each parcel upon death. This takes planning, preparation and advance legal expenses, but can save much more in the future.
Your attorney can explain further. |
|
Read More Answered By: Rick Williams |
Under normal circumstances, a formal probate would be held in the county where the property owner resided at the time of his/her death. An ancillary probate would be conducted in the second jurisdiction (state) to reconvey the other property. Neither will be cheap or convenient for the family of the decedent and can be readily avoided. The best way to save the family all the hassles and considerable expense of the formal proceedings is to form a Revocable Living Trust now. The cost is not nearly as high as most people imagine, and it will afford tremendous peace of mind to the property owner and the family that survives him or her.
I strongly recommend you DO NOT download a form from the Internet or buy a CD from an office supply store. "One size fits all" does not really fit anyone, and it is important that the Trust you enter is fully, legally enforceable under the laws of both states. Hire a qualified pro who has done scores of Trusts for clients, and you can rest assured that it will do the job when you are gone.
Come visit a Sparks attorney to help you get this all straightened out. |
Top Attorneys in NV
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Frederick D. (Rick) Williams, Chtd.
Sparks, NV
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-21
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Lynes & Associates
Auburn, CA
Questions Answered: 117
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-30
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
Law Office of Grenville Pridham
Tustin, CA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Search Questions and Answers


