New Jersey  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/31/99, 8:45 am

Legal Question


escrow

A law firm sent me a letter and confirmed "our client has agreed to resolve this matter for a lump sum payment of $5,720.00. Upon receipt of your check we will hold in escrow until the original release signed by our client and filed stipulation of dismissal is returned to you."

My questions are:

1.Does this sound right? Their escrow is them, and it is their word and reputation they will send in the releases, meanwhile they have deposited my check and I have no leverage..

2. Can their client change their mind and continue the lawsuit after I send my check?

3. Should I do what they ask me to do or let my bank's Manager hold a certified or cashiers check until the releases are provided to me.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search