Legal Question in Consumer Law in New Jersey

I took over a Loan for a jeep wrangler from my brother Inlaw. I started the payment book with the first payment of coupon book. Since that time I have made 31 payments towArds jeep totaling approximately $11,780.00. My brother inlaw started having problems with his wife and eventually they devorced. As a result she is entitled to half of everything. We began fighting about the ownership of jeep and he then said we were only leasing it from him. Without a doubt I have the "LOAN" coupon book in my presence. He threatened to come take it away. I didn't pay 2 payments as a result of this situation. Although I realize I should have it didn't make sence if he wAs intending to take jeep away. He then offered us another car valued via a car dealership at $1500.00 and an additional $700 in cash. We gave it back very reluctantly but I am now out approximately $10,000. My question is, do I have a case to redeem my money back. This was never ever considered a lease. I would never have agreed to that. Please advise

Frustrated family member

Asked on 10/31/13, 6:52 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Davies The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Before you do anything, please talk to a smart attorney in your area.

You may lose a lot of money, if you do the wrong thing.

Robert Davies, Esq.

201 820 3460

Read more
Answered on 10/31/13, 7:20 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in New Jersey

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now