New Jersey | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
i cannot afford my car lease
I leased a VW Passat in 2002 but lost my job with the airlines in 2003. My lease payment is half of my unemployment compensation, & I am single. I cashed out my 401k but now that's all gone, & I can't make ends meet any more. The job I am getting certified for (substitute teacher) will not commence until late November, & even then I'll be making as much as I make on unemployment. I contacted VW & the options are all costly, since apparently the car is worth 10K less than what I owe. I only have 1k in my savings, I do not own a house nor have any other assets. I'm also currently in Chapter 13 bankruptcy trying to repay my credit card debt through the court. Is there any possibility, due to hardship, of me breaching this contract & returning the vehicle without getting sued or losing my shirt to attorney fees? Help!


