New Jersey | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
I went to work for a company after agreeing to the salery. I was asked to start right away, which I did. After the second day there, the owner called all the workers in the office for a meeting. He walked up to one of the employee's grabed him by the throut with both ahnds and started shacking him around like a rag doll. I got between the two of them and held the owner off.
I decided that night there was no way I wanted to work for this guy. So I told him the next day that I wasn't staying and would like my pay for the two days that I worked for him. He came up with a figure of $500.00 and wrote me a check. Needless to say, he stopped the check. What can I do?


