New Jersey  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
3/01/09, 10:06 pm

Legal Question


Wrongful termination under FMLA?

While I understand that New Jersey is an ''At Will'' employment state, how does the FMLA of 1993 fit in...?

For example, at the end of October I requested my last 4 vacation days under the FMLA to go visit my wife who was in an out-of-state residential treatment facility for an Eating Disorder (Anorexia). The company then immediately taken off all projects for a week and then laid off under false pretenses at the beginning of November. I was not paid for those four Paid Time Off days, let alone the six weeks I should have been entitled to under FMLA...

Do I have any recourse to recover compensation in this instance?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search