Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New Jersey

I filled out an application for an apartment and gave $950 (deposit and application fees) thinking that I was definitely moving there, Nowhere in the application says that it is nonrefundable, and only application FEES are kept, they now wont give me my money back and want me to sing a RELEASE. They keep referring to the application as a lease but it is not. Please help!

Asked on 5/08/13, 6:43 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Matthew Schutz Matthew R. Schutz, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Without reviewing the document its hard to say. Given the amount involved, I would suspect its more than an application fee.

Read more
5/08/13, 7:02 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New Jersey

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now