New Jersey  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
1/17/10, 6:26 am

Legal Question


Recently sent registered letter lease to tenant; returned undelivered. Prior to mailing lease had both tenants read lease on my PC. It was a year's lease agreement. Since moving in and paying 1st month's rent, tenant called on 12th of month asking, "where's the frigging lease" and, later in the conversation mentioning he hadn't sent the check, but I would receive it by end of week, even if he had to send it express overnight mail. The check didn't arrive Friday or Saturday and Monday's a holiday-the 18th. My plan is to send the "good" tenant a "month to month" lease instead of the original lease they read on my PC. Is there an implied "lease" contract for the original year's lease, or, because the tenants ignored the post office's repeated attempts to get the tenant's to sign for the registered letter either at the door or at the post office, can I now send the tenant/s a month-to-month lease to sign? Also, if they refuse to sign a month-to-month lease does that automatically place them on a month to month rental basis. Note: state of agreement-New Jersey. Any advice will be welcomed. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search