New Jersey | Social Security Law
Legal Question
Social securtity
If my husband and I both on SS and he dies can I elect to take his and drop mine?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Randall Selagy |
Re: Social securtity No. His monthly benefits stop on his death.
But you should inquirer about spouse's survival benefits, based on his record. If that amount is higher than what you receive on your earnings record, you can elect to take that amount instead of your retirement benefit. |
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
DIAMONDLAWYER
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Levinson Axelrod, P.C.
Edison, NJ
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-22
F. Randall Selagy, P.C.
Kennett Square, PA
Questions Answered: 224
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Young, Klein & Associates
Bensalem, PA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
The Law Office of Eric David Kochel, Esq., P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 94
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-04-27
Duffy Law, LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Search Questions and Answers


