New Jersey  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
6/29/09, 12:13 pm

Legal Question


39:4-123

While visiting NJ, I was cited under 39:4-123 for an illegal left turn. The intersection where I turned was poorly posted - especially in comparison to other intersections on the same stretch of road where left turns were clearly prohibited and that I bypassed while looking for one where I could get turned.

I truly had no idea such a turn was not permitted where I finally did turn and I was astonished when I was pulled over. So stunned in fact that after the officers left, I went back to the intersection looking for the sign they claimed was posted there. In revisting the intersection in question, I found a sign, but I believe it does not come close to meeting the standards prescribed in ''The Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices For Streets and Highways'' issued by the US Dept. of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration. Would arguing that the sign at the intersection does not appear to meet federal uniform signage specifications even be worth arguring in a local court?

The facts are there WAS a sign and I DID make the turn... so my defense is simply that I only made said turn because I could not see the sign due to its poor construction...


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search