Re: police entrapment
Good question, and one that comes up fairly frequently. Entrapment is illegal, but there are limits on what is called entrapment. Entrapment means when the police cause you to commit a crime you otherwise couldn't have committed.
For example, if a police officer knows you are suspended and tosses you the keys and tells you to run an errand, that's entrapment. If he knows you are suspended, knows you are going to do it and waits to catch you, that's not entrapment. You don't have a right to require the police to save you from yourself.
You still may be able to beat it, but it's going to require fighting it on other grounds. I fight and beat a lot of these on issues such as notice. Get back to me if you want me to go over your situation with you.
Disclaimer
Nothing in this correspondence shall be construed to create an attorney-client relationship. While this information is intended to be accurate, it is intended for general information only and should not be considered a substitute for consultation and advice by an attorney who has access to all necessary and relevant information. I also urge you to read the general disclaimers and terms of use for this website. They actually mean something.
You are invited to call or write to my office for a free, no-obligation consultation.