New Jersey  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
7/10/03, 1:00 am

Legal Question


Does my case qualify for Workers Compensation?

To Whom It May Concern:

I recently got severly injured as a result of a slip and fall accident. This accident occured on the parking lot of the college that I am employed with part time. However, my fall was not the fault of the college; I accidently just tripped over my own shoelaces. For that reason, I submitted my medical bills to my regular medical insurance company (I am insured with my wife under her medical plan from her employment). The medical insurance company did pay for all of the medical bills (amounting to about $20,000 in hospital costs). However, I'm not sure if I should have submitted the bills to the college for Workers Compensation. Did I act correctly? If I did not, who is responsible for my medical bills? Also, the college that I work at is located in New Jersey and I live in New York. If I have to contact a Workers Compensation lawyer, does the New Jersey or New York law apply? Thank you for your help! I really appreciate it!!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search