New York  |  Business Law

question bubble
2/06/07, 11:41 am

Legal Question


Job Problems

I am an employee at a pet store that just opened last June. The business is a partnership via verbal contract. One of the partners lives in North Carolina and he was financing the store, and the lease is in his name. The other partner took the role as more of a manager type owner, but also financed what he could. The partner out of NC decided since he wasn't making the profit he expected, that he wanted to back out. He refuses to send money to the store. The store has no heat, and the temperatures are well below freezing in this area. We have not gotten paid in over a week, because the store has no money to pay us. The bills haven't been paid because we aren't making enough to pay the bills, and the owner refuses to help. He plans to file bancruptcy just so he doesn't have to worry about paying for the store anymore. Is there anything that we as employees can do? We feel we are being wronged by this owner, by not being well informed about the status of our jobs, not being paid, and having to work in an environment that is freezing cold.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search