New York  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
9/17/09, 7:43 pm

Legal Question


I have filed multiple complaints against a neighbor that has threatened myself and my girlfriend while we walk our dog. He claims that this public road is private and we shouldn't be there. (this is actually not the case, the town maintains the road and we pay taxes to live here) He came at us with a leafblower on one occasion and threw debris and rocks all over us. At one point he threatened to kick my a**. When we filed our complaint it turns out he then filed a false counter complaint citing harrassment and now we are being forced to either concede to not walking near his house (on a public street) and both parties need to stay away from each other for 6 months and it will go away, and if I don't concede, they'll drop the charges against him but proceed with a trial against me. I have now come to discover that this gentleman is a town employee and this is all being handled through the town justice system. The judge made it very clear that if I continue to hold strong and don't agree to settle that he will be the judge and jury and he'll be making the final decision (in an ominous manor). because the sentance would not carry a jail sentance he's also refused my request for legal representation. help?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search