New York | Technology Law
Legal Question
Harrasment
I have been receiving emails from my g/f's ex-husband and they have been profane in nature. I was wondering if there is legal action I can take against him. I live in NY, he lives in Wyoming
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gerry Elman |
Re: Harrasment Not that I can think of.
I infer from what you write that the messages come from his computer to your email box and that copies aren't sent to anyone else. So that would rule out the possibility that he is engaging in the kind of defamation that can be remedied by legal action.
And I don't read your note as saying that he is sending you any faxes or emailed advertisements.
Have you considered the self-help expedient of blocking (in your email software) messages from his email address as Junk Mail?
You should understand, of course, that the foregoing is not legal advice. A question like this cannot be effectively resolved on a public forum, especially with such a limited set of facts. If this is important to you, do consult a local lawyer to whom you would confidentially disclose the entire background of this, as well as your hoped-for outcome. |
Top Attorneys in NY
Michael A. Markowitz, PC
Hewlett, NY
Questions Answered: 4227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
David A. Browde, P.C.
Chappaqua, NY
Questions Answered: 1595
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
The Law Offices of Anthony J. Colleluori & Associates PLLC
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Frenkel Sukhman LLP
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 364
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


