New York | Technology Law
Legal Question
The Laws of the Internet and our rights as web users
My question concerns the legality of obtaining someones picture and placing them on a web site where false information is being displayed about the person who's picture is posted. The comments are never flattering, which leads me to believe this is slander and defamation. Are all pictures sent out online considered public information? Does another internet user have the right to post another persons picture with incorrect information, without his or her permission? What if the domain is owned by the user posting the pictures? What legal actions need to be taken to get the pictures off the web site and have the entire site shut down? Thanks.


