New York | Construction Law
Legal Question
Electric in Remodeling of Kitchen
I am remodeling my kitchen my house is 45yr old and the original kitchen. My contract states ''Rewire kitchen for new lighting, outlets, switches, as per new kitchen design, owner to supply materials, switches, outlets, boxes.''
The problem is that after they ripped out the walls the electric for my electric appliances (double oven, cook top) is on one circuit and is aluminum wire. They want to charge me additional money to bring up to current code. To me except for materials that cost is built into my contract price when I accepted. So I feel all required code upgrades should be included. Also, the part ''new kitchen design'' has in the drawings under cabinet lighting. They are now saying that the contract does not include this in their price.


