New York | Construction Law
Legal Question
Mechanic's Lien: Part 2
Mike,
Thank you for your answer, but here is more detail. The contractor has presented an itemized statement showing nominal ''completion'', but I have photographs and an affidavit from an expert witness demonstrating that the job is incomplete and deficient. Where can I go from here?
Thanks!
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Markowitz |
Re: Mechanic's Lien: Part 2 Lien law section 38 states the following:
A lienor who has filed a notice of lien shall, on demand in writing, deliver to the owner or contractor making such demand a statement in writing which shall set forth the items of labor and/or material and the value thereof which make up the amount for which he claims a lien, and which shall also set forth the terms of the contract under which such items were furnished. The statement shall be verified by the lienor or his agent in the form required for the verification of notices in section nine of this chapter. If the lienor shall fail to comply with such a demand within five days after the same shall have been made by the owner or contractor, or if the lienor delivers an insufficient statement, the person aggrieved may petition the supreme court of this state or any justice thereof, or the county court of the county where the premises are situated, or the county judge of such county for an order directing the lienor within a time specified in the order to deliver to the petitioner the statement required by this section. Two days' notice in writing of such application shall be served upon the lienor. Such service shall be made in the manner provided by law for the personal service of a summons. The court or a justice or judge thereof shall hear the parties and upon being satisfied that the lienor has failed, neglected or refused to comply with the requirements of this section shall have an appropriate order directing such compliance. In case the lienor fails to comply with the order so made within the time specified, then upon five days' notice to the lienor, served in the manner provided by law for the personal service of a summons, the court or a justice or judge thereof may make an order canceling the lien.
Was the contractor's itemized statement verified by the lienor in the form required for the verification of notices pursuant to section 9 in the Lien law? If not, the itemized statement is not sufficient under section 38.
Notwithstanding, you may commence an action against the contractor for breach of contract in accordance with the affidavit provided by your expert witness.
Mike. |
Top Attorneys in NY
Michael A. Markowitz, PC
Hewlett, NY
Questions Answered: 4227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Law Offices of Anthony J. Colleluori & Associates PLLC
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Law Offices of Jason B. Kessler, P.C.
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 715
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Office of Savy Grant
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Jeffrey A. Lazroe attorney at law
Buffalo, NY
Questions Answered: 564
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-14
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Frenkel Sukhman LLP
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 364
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Rosenberg & Press L.L.C.
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Search Questions and Answers


