New York  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/21/03, 7:24 pm

Legal Question


college debt

I graduated from a private college in Aug. of 1994. At the time of my graduation I was told I owed no money. There was a strict policy that if any tuition was due you could not participate in the commencement ceremonies.

A little over a month ago I received a notice from a collection agency stating that I owe $908. to the college from tuition fees for my final semester, I had never been contacted by the college before so I thought this was an error. When I did call the school I was advised that due to a state audit old accounts were being reviewed and mine came up as owing the $908.

They had never attempted to contact me prior to the notice from the collection agency. Is this legal? Also does a statue of limitation apply to a college debt? according to the representatives from both the college and the collection agency it does not.

thanks in advance for you reply


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search