New York  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
7/28/02, 2:21 pm

Legal Question


Is keeping a person out on the basis of one's race illegal?

Dear Madam / Sir

My brotherin-law is refusing to have a friend of mine over in his house on the basis that she is black and may constitute a 'bad' influence for his kids.

Question: is this in any form illegal (as he is acting on pure racist grounds)?

He also uses the argument ''she is Christian'' as a reason to keep my friend out (he himself is Jewish).

Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search