New York | Elder Law
Legal Question
Terminally Ill Elderly Father Being Manipulated
My father is terminally ill with a slow-moving illness. As the illness has progressed, my father has become, I believe, clinically depressed. He has been hitting himself in the head, crying, screaming, acting irrationally, etc. I am very worried about him, esp. because he refuses to let me help him. In addition to all of this, his best friend has moved in to ''take care of him'' & she has been psychologically abusive of him. She has done everything she can to alienate his family from him, so that he has no 1 to depend on but her. She is very controling & the family is worried that she may not be acting in his best interest. Is there anything that I can do as his only child? My father is not senile, just depressed. We are worried that he is making poor decisions. I think he feels blackmailed in a way... he has told me on several occassions that he doesn't agree with something that she has done, but that he can't say anything because if he does, she'll leave & no one will take care of him. That's not true; his family is willing to take care of him. He has no Health Care Proxy, burial plans or will this far and refuses to discuss anything. Do I have any legal rights so I can protect him from being manipulated? Help!


